are Japanese quails monogamous

The place to discuss Quail.

Moderator: Marigold

rita
Regular Forum Contributor / Laying Well

are Japanese quails monogamous

Post by rita » Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:54 pm

i ask this question because my male only mates with one female, even tho there are 4 to pick from, he sticks to this one female like her shadow, and it's the same as my other male.
i thought that they would mate with all the girls and not just stick to one, has anyone else found this in their Japanese male.
Marigold

Re: are Japanese quails monogamous

Post by Marigold » Mon Aug 06, 2012 10:25 am

All mine just raped everything in sight, male or female made no difference! Obviously you have a more gentlemanly and better- brought-up male than mine,Rita!
Tillman
Forum Contributor / Grower

Post by Tillman » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:17 pm

Hi Rita, I'm not an expert in Quails but I have a boy called Tillman & 2 girls called Tammy & Tilly. Although Tillman does try to mate with both of the girls he does seem to prefer Tammy & always tries it on with her first before giving it a go with Tilly if Tammy "gets away". I have also found that if he is sitting snuggling with just one of the girls it will always be Tammy, him & Tilly only snuggle if Tammy is with them. I haven't yet decided if this is because he prefers Tammy or if it is because Tammy tolerates him more than Tilly does :)
rita

Post by rita » Mon Aug 06, 2012 6:18 pm

well today he did have a little try with my cream coloured one but she wasn't having any of it so he gave up, so far he has not got nasty with anyone of them, but he does rule the roost and they all keep their distance from him, except my range she not bothered by him as she mates with the other male but he doesn't hang on her tails like my redhead male quail.