Young Bantam Hen can't walk or stand

The place to discuss Chickens.

Moderators: victorias poultry, Marigold

Young Bantam Hen can't walk or stand

Postby Pigeonman624 » Sun Apr 08, 2012 2:05 am

Hi,
I'm new to the chicken world. Have bred and raced homing pigeon for over forty years. I have a young Bantam hen( about a year old) who has been doing fine until last Monday. I came Monday at lunch to let the dogs out and check on the birds. All was fine. I came home after work about 5:20 and the hen was lying in the dirt. I thought she was just cooling off ,till I went in to feed them and she didn't move. I picked her up checked her out she looked and felt fine. I put her back down and she just laid there. So I took her to the cellar put her in a box with plenty of shavings, food and water. It's been almost a week now and no improvement. She eats and drinks a little. I give her vitamin pills twice a day I use for the pigeons. She looks fine except for the fact that she can not stand or walk. Any help will be appreciated. Pigeonman624
Pigeonman624
Newcomer / Hatchling

Re: Young Bantam Hen can't walk or stand

Postby karminski » Sun Apr 08, 2012 11:10 am

wish i could help you but i would say that shes paralysed via an attack or injury a trip to the vet would be the best bet .
karminski
Part of the Flock

Postby Sue » Sun Apr 08, 2012 3:30 pm

It would probably be a good idea to get her checked by a vet so that you know whether it is likely to be a temporary or permanent problem. You will then be able to make an informed decision regarding the best course of action. I'm assuming you know that her legs aren't actually broken. Are they completely paralysed? Can she move her feet? Can she stand at all if you stand her up? Could she have hurt her back in any way?